Day 7…

Morning y’all.

Today I got up and made sweet potato pancakes, paleo style. They are far more hearty and nutty than your average pancake, but not sweet in any kind of way. It was more like a corn cake in texture, but still tasty. Even my roommates kid liked them and she’s 3.

So, a serious “come to Jesus” moment I had last night with myself. I found the paper where I had written down my measurements in October and I compared them to the measurements that I took when I started this challenge. It truthfully made me incredibly sad. I’ve only grown 2 inches all around (waist, chest, hips) and that isn’t SO much, but I’m disappointed that I allowed it to happen. Before I moved I was pretty beastly and now i’m flabby and it broke my heart. Well, guess what? It was the motivation that I needed. If I can put on 2 inches in 3 months, I sure as hell can take them off, hopefully faster. I also lost 3 lbs in the past 6 days of this challenge. My friend who’s doing it with me and who has never done it weighed herself yesterday and has lost 10lbs. That made me sad for a few minutes too, but then I have to remember that I eat Paleo pretty much all the time. She doesn’t. My body is far more used to the restrictions and has already adjusted to them. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not upset about 3 lbs. I am quite excited about that, however, it does make me jealous. I aim to be back at the weight I had in July by the end of this challenge. That means I only have to lose 11lbs. Strict challenges like this usually knock off 10lbs for me, so that will be perfect!

I will say that I did get in 6 workouts this week. I followed the schedule that I have set for myself. Monday was upper body, Tuesday was Yoga and cardio, Wednesday was energy circuit, Thursday was yoga, Friday nothing, but Saturday was makeup for Friday and that was legs. Also I threw in salsa dancing on Tuesday, which is a hell of a workout.

This coming week is going to be fun. I’m excited to start volunteering at the library today. Classes start back on Monday, which I am also excited about. New semester, new challenges, and a new solid focus on myself. I’m not worried about going on dates. I’m not worried about other people and their problems, but I am going to pay more attention to my health and my future. Setting goals and attaining them will be my focus. I have roughly 8 months to find a real job and get ready to apply to PhD programs. I’m working on doing some writing and expanding my thesis from NYU to maybe get part of it published. If I can find someone who will want to get it published. But we shall see!

Health and happiness…

Let go or be dragged…

I choose to do the thing you won’t so I can continue to do the things you can’t.

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

