Day 2

Good Morning, Bloggers!

Day 2 is upon us. Guess what I am doing today? I’m going to take a Salsa Dance class. My roommate is going with me and I am STOKED! Yes, there are also $1 tacos, but I’m not going to eat the taco shell. I really just want to boogie!

The end of the night was hard yesterday, but I ate my apple with almond butter and got over the hump. The only thing that I will caution anyone who wants to do the paleo challenge, the first couple days your body is like “OMG! I’m so hungry!” all the time. Thankfully, it adjusts and you’re not so crazy hungry.

I ate:

breakfast casserole and sweet potato for breakfast, obviously!

Bratwurst, peppers, onion, mushrooms, and steamed broccoli for lunch

Steak with onions and mushrooms and broccoli and carrots

Snacks included my protein shake made with almond milk and coconut milk (full fat), and an apple with almond butter.

I also made sure to consume my 64 oz of water.

My workout was an arm/upper body centered workout for Monday. I haven’t done the whole getting up and working out by 8am yet, but I’m still getting my workout in! I will have to do it once work starts back next week, otherwise I won’t have time. However, I will be going to the gym on campus at that point. I’m quite excited about it.

The day is young. I’ve taken my supplements (which I highly recommend Olive Leaf Extract for fighting any kind of virus and helping with circulation), I’ve had a couple glasses of water (apparently if you start your day with 32 oz of water, good things happen! check out this article from TheMindUnleashed.org http://themindunleashed.org/2014/12/water-therapy-benefits-drinking-water-right-wake.html) and now I’m knocking this out and having my coffee. Gonna finish the breakfast casserole this morning and I’m going to make some kind of smoothie for my morning snack!

The one thing I love about the whole paleo thing is that I don’t have to worry about serving sizes and portion control as much as those who follow strict diets. My coach told me once that no one ever got fat eating almonds or avocado (even though they have a lot of fat!). It is true. Eat as many vegetables as you want, eat some fruit, just keep your protein in check (still the size of your palm) and throw down! I learned to love so many new veggies this time last year when I did this challenge the first time. Invest! not just in the fresh veggies, but in your life and yourself. Cause nobody else is going to do it for you.

My mom found a great inspirational quote that is called “I Choose” that embodies everything that I strive to do. Everything I strive to want for myself. It helps me through bad days, and I know the next few days are going to be difficult, but this will help me along the way. I hope you like it as much as I do. Happy Tuesday!

i-choose

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

