The Sugar Addiction

As Americans we know how hard it is to escape sugar. It is in everything…EVERYTHING! Even things that are made without sugar still contains something that probably contains sugar. It is everywhere. Sadly for me I have the worst sweet tooth you can possibly have. If  I wanted to I could sit down and eat a whole damn cake. The whole thing. And I would rub my finger through the icing when it was left on the plate at eat that too. I love it. I can’t get enough of it, but I hate it all at the same time.

I have a condition called PCOS. It is an ovary disorder that causes people to be fat, abnormally hairy, and they think it has something to do with insulin sensitivity or just insulin in general (and no I’m not a diabetic). I have been treated for it off and on since I was 16 when I was diagnosed. Over the past year I have been attempting to grasp the best ways for myself to lose weight because it is exceptionally challenging with this disorder. Why? the fuck if I know. If only I could develop an aversion to simple carbs and sugar I would be great! But sadly, again, they are my favorite….but my body hates them. I started a paleo challenge earlier this year to see if I could do it for 30 days. I successfully lost a fair amount of weight and my body really liked the eating change. I choose not to eat dairy, simple carbs (bread, pasta, chips, etc), or starchy vegetables like legumes (peanuts count here!) and white potatoes. Some of you might be thinking, What the hell do you eat then? Vegetables, that aren’t starchy, and meat (grain free to the best of my ability) and some fruit, as long as it is high in fiber and water, not sugar (grapes…are no longer an option). Now, from time to time I will fall off this strict diet and eat bread and queso dip, but generally I try to follow these guidelines. I have been bad about the peanut butter lately as well as the sugar and actual bread. Halloween killed me. Halloween is still killing me. I almost went all of yesterday without sugar and then around 7pm I noticed a bag of candy, and i proceeded to eat some. Now, a little candy from time to time isn’t a terrible thing, but I’m like an alcoholic, once I start I can’t stop. Today has been better and I am hard on the paleo!

For breakfast I had 2 hard boiled eggs (its so easy to take with me to the office and eat) and a cup of pears in natural juice. I had a light lunch of tuna lettuce wraps with carrot, tomato, and some homemade cranberry applesauce (sweetened with coconut sugar). I came home and got 30 min of fat burning cardio in and proceeded to drink a protein shake and eat a spoon of almond butter. Usually I don’t do protein shakes unless I’ve lifted that day, but today I wanted a little more. I also haven’t had one in a while since I’ve been sucking it up lately. Last week, however, I did workout 4x and this week I’m on day 2 of working out. I will get my 4 days every week until the end of the year (when I set new goals) and I will eat paleo as hell the rest of the year. I want to be a size 16 by Christmas, which might could happen if I really bust my ass.

I currently have my motivation back. The end of the year is approaching. I need inspiration for the year to come. That is the one thing I have to look deep inside myself to find. I also have to find a way to teach myself to hate sugar. Any suggestions? I’m always open to ideas!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

