Getting back on track

I don’t blog often anymore. I honestly just don’t have time to. Today, however, is Friday and I don’t have office hours, I don’t have to teach, and all the roommates are gone! BAM! Hello pot of coffee and some time to my thoughts. I have been on the weight loss bandwagon since March 2013. I won’t lie and say that I have been working out 5-6x a week since then and only eating lean chicken or fish and a crap ton of veggies since March. Nope. I will go hard on the eating clean thing for a good 30 days and I will feel amazing and love it, but something will happen and I will end up faltering and eating something I have chosen not to eat. I won’t say that I’m not supposed to eat it, because I can, I just don’t want to. It is generally not a big deal, but as of right now I have been of the wagon for about 6 weeks. I haven’t been eating horribly, just not the best. I have made sure to work out a couple times a week, but not consistently. I recently moved and my entire routine just got wrecked. I am doing my best to use October as my 30 day restart. So far so good. I went to the gym on Monday and I will go back at some point this afternoon. Tomorrow is energy circuit, which I can do from home.

Going to the gym on campus is kinda intimidating. I would say it sucks, but honestly it doesn’t, it is quite state of the art! Wide variety of equipment and its clean and huge! Either way, I am an instructor (first) and I want to not pay to use a gym (second) so I don’t and I go lift weights at work. Only other problem is that I run into my students occasionally. I also still don’t know where everything is and I don’t know anyone, thus making it rather intimidating. I will figure it out though. I miss my gym back home. I miss my coach and my friends and I miss their inspiration. I was doing soooooo good and really seeing results after only working out there for a month. I am looking inside myself so hard and trying to channel the feeling I got from them and their inspiration. I also need to find a spotter!

I’m still in pain from Wednesday’s workout, but it makes me happy! I’m going to put in some serious time there today though. I want to learn my way around and find things and get in a really successful lifting. I want to do dead lifts with a trap bar so bad I can’t stand it!

Back to the point. I am going to use this blog as my diary for this journey. I have struggled with this battle for my entire life. I am 31 years old, and by the time I’m 32 (In April) I don’t want to be considered ‘obese’ anymore. I don’t know that I have ever not been technically obese in my life, since i was like 5 or so. I have no excuse. I eat great foods and I love so many foods, but somehow I fell victim to the world in America and I got lazy and at crap and got fat. I tried so many times to ‘be skinny’ and it has never worked. At my heaviest, which was about 8-9 years ago, I was around 330 lbs. I’m 5’8″ also. My BMI was 50.2. After a year of fairly solid life changes and being dedicated to the cause of my own health and well being, while I am still 5’8″, I am at 255 and 38.8 BMI. Just now when I calculated it, I just about shit myself. I haven’t done a generic BMI calculation since I was a 41 BMI. Do you realize I am almost out of the obese category?!?!? I only have 8.8% left until I am finally out. If I get down to 200lbs I will be at 30.4, which is right on the line of overweight and obese. I weighed 200lbs in the 6th grade. Perspective. Crazy. Shit.

I’m back on the wagon though. I have been eating pretty Paleo, which is lean, grass fed meat, vegetables in a close to natural state, fruit, some nuts and seeds. Its easier if you say, nothing starchy, nothing processed, no soda, no dairy, no bullshit for 30 days. Oh, and no Alcohol. Which is fine cause I’m broke and I have never done one of these challenges and not drank. I know that liquor is calories, but there’s no carbs, but it also involves diet soda for me…. all in all it will be a challenge for me and one that needs to be tried. I can drink halloween. I am willing to bet ya I’ll be a cheap date!

I am really taking into account my coach’s philosophy, 4-6-8. Working out 4x a week, eating 6 meals a day, and getting 8 hours a sleep a night will make your workout efforts a success. In combination with what kind of food i’m eating, and the amount of water, things should start back smoothly! I’m excited and motivated currently! I can’t wait to see how much weight I can lose by Halloween. Hopefully my costume will still fit! lol.

Alright, I need to make some breakfast now. Another thing that sucks about being broke and wanting to eat well is that you really can’t afford to do anything else! Why is it so costly to eat what you should! stupid government and corporations that run this country!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting back on track

  1. laurenfalber says:

    I cannot wait to read about your amazing results and progress! You are an inspiration! And one of our biggest struggles is being able to afford good, quality, healthy food for a family of 4. It’s not always doable. And it should be. So proud of you!

    • Thank you Buddy! and yes, it certainly should be affordable for anyone no matter income to feed their family healthy options. I mean, I understand that people will lose a lot of money if people didn’t buy processed stuff, but they were resourceful once, why not present the challenge again and see what happens 🙂 Love you! and thank you for always being supportive!

Leave a Reply

