grumbling

I can’t complain too much because I had a random snow day in the middle of the week. Then we had a 2 hour delay this morning. I can’t complain too much because my sister’s pipes froze and they probably won’t have water until Saturday. I am annoyed that the man has to always work stupid late and I am asleep by the time he gets off work. I haven’t seen him since Sunday afternoon. He’s been trying to come over all week but either ended up staying really late at work or it snowed. I can’t be mad about it because he is doing what he has to in order to survive. I am too. At least I get snow days. He doesn’t.

My weight loss is going well. I’m down 13lbs since Christmas. Go me! So I can’t complain about that. I guess I am just bored. Bored with life and my everyday schedule. Same thing. Same day. I did love having a day to just do nothing. Even though I did laundry and cooked. I’ve been eating Paleo. I did a 30 day challenge, well am doing one. So far so good. I am about to wrap up week two and it is pretty awesome. Granted, I won’t lie. I am dying for a bag of gummy bears or a chocolate bar. I miss my sugar. I am hoping by the time I finish the 30 days, I won’t care anymore. The only sugar I have had in these two weeks is natural sugar from fruit and that which my body creates when i drink alcohol. I won’t be having any alcohol this week since I won’t be going out tonight. I would really like to have some drastic changes when I go to my doctors apt next week. Even thought this is the first time I have ever seen this doctor, I have been seen by others in the same network and my weight as of November should show a fair change. I am also getting all those fun blood tests done that tell you how bad/good everything is going in your body. i have a few things I need to ask her about. One being my crazy dry skin! I have always been told to drink a lot of water and your skin won’t be dry. Lies, I tell you…LIES! I drink at LEAST 8 glasses a day. I am almost always fully hydrated. And I know that in the winter your skin gets dry too, but my god I need something.

So I have a friend who is in ICU. I found out Tuesday. She was a great mentor to me when I was in my graduate program. She even went to Governor’s School in the 90s with my sister. She works in the library where I used to work and I found out through her partner that she is in ICU with renal failure. 32 years old and she’s dying. You don’t come back from renal failure unless you get a transplant. You can live on dialysis for a number of years, but it is a terrible life. I just talked to her the other day and she seemed to be her normal self. Now, she’s hanging out in a hospital bed. My heart breaks for her and her family. It reminds me of when I was in community college. My English 112 teacher died about a month before classes were over. He was a great man. Full of life and an amazing teacher. He was terribly overweight, much like my friend who is in ICU, and ended up having a heart attack. At least that is what they told us. His family didn’t do an autopsy because they figured it was either a heart attack or stroke that killed him and it wasn’t worth the exploration to find out. It was hard to get over his death. He had made such an impact on my 18 year old self. He had just come out as a Gay man also. Learning to live his life and be happy in his own skin. My friend in ICU, she has been working diligently to get in better health. She started eating a lot better than she used to and had lost a fair amount of weight. I guess her organs just don’t know how to handle being under the strain that they have been. I want her to get better. I don’t want to put another friend in the ground before their time is up.

I need a new job. I like the one I have, but I will end up having my contract run out June 30 of this year. Then I will be SOL. I look everyday to find a job in a library. I might have to give in and look elsewhere. It is starting to get busy I suppose I should stop blogging and do some work.

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

