Here I am…

It is Monday. I’m back at work. School is not closed for Veterans Day (Thank all of you for your service!) and it should be. I have been raised in the south my entire life, despite living abroad and in various other places in the world, but overall I have some deep rooted beliefs that some might consider old fashioned. I believe that men should open doors for women, everyone should respect their elders, racism is inexcusable, and overall, the holidays are meant to be spent with family and NOT working. My second job is requiring associates to be in the store to open at 8pm on Thanksgiving Day. Basically, that to me is saying Fuck you and your family time and the entire meaning of this holiday. Why do we even celebrate it anymore? I mean, obviously we’re just here to slave away for random corporations to make sure they get the money they want. What happened to 5am on Black Friday? That is a good time for people to start their shopping. If they decide that sleeping out in front of Best Buy is necessary, then that is their choice, but it still gives the associates the actual day of Thanksgiving to spend with their families or celebrate in whatever way possible. I put in my two week notice and will not actually be working for the holidays because I have a new gig that pays much more and requires far less work. Despite that, I am appalled at the level of greed and the level of just general lack of fundamental beliefs that this country is running on now. Everyone is so obsessed with having their new technology, finding their designer handbags, and generally not really doing anything for society but causing it to overflow with greed and general bullshit. What happened to the family and friends aspect of the holidays? What happened to giving thanks for what you have? Being thankful for your family and the overall meaning of the holiday?

Christmas is just as bad. Hell, I’m surprised that people still get that day off! And some don’t because of the box office movie releases. Soon enough the American people will not even have the luxury of having any kind of holiday off. They will always be working for the man 24/7 and there will still be a huge void between the poor and the wealthy. The only difference from now is that the poor will be far more tired than they already are. I have friends that work 60+ hours a week. I myself work over 50. I am making the first real money I have ever made in my life and I’m still trying to hold onto it as much as possible because one day I won’t have a job and I will still have bills to pay. I am just trying to cover my own ass and live on the same amount of money that I was living on when I made minimum wage. Which, for the record, is REALLY hard to do. Why? So I can buy those I love a little something for Christmas. I don’t go all out or anything, but I do want to show them that I care and that I remembered them. And I enjoy giving people things to see their face when I got it right! That is why I love the holidays. I love to give. I need to give more in a volunteering kind of way when I can. I am not a religious person but I still have firm morals and I want to do more for others. My grandmother is the prime example of someone who lives a life of frugality and still gives back to the people who need it. I am not allowed into her house on Christmas without canned food to stock the pantry at her church for the holiday season. The same thing is expected on her birthday. I come from a big family. We can pull together a whole lot of canned food for the less fortunate. It is something that I think we should do far more often. My parents donate once a month to the local food pantry which is awesome too, but I have a desire to do more. I just have to figure out where to do it and what organization I want to promote.

I’m just at a loss for why people cannot understand how important these holidays and such are to people. No offense to any of you, but I don’t want to hang out with anyone on Thanksgiving that I work with. Only the people I love and want to spend time with. I don’t want to deal with the vile public who are just going to yell at me because they don’t like the price of something or my attitude. It isn’t worth it to me and I’m sorry, but I could give a shit if you found that holiday sweater for your holiday party on Black Friday prices. It isn’t worth it to save some fucking money. Ugh. It is just so frustrating. What happened to the way things were in the 90s? And the 80s? and the 70s from what I have heard.

Well Bloggers, I hope that you do not have to spend your Thanksgiving day surrounded by assholes in a retail environment. Spend some time with your family and remember what you’re thankful for instead of being greedy and rude. End of story. Sorry for the rant, but I just had to get it off my chest!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

