Librarian Work is never done

I’m so annoyed at the fact that I feel like I’m getting sick AGAIN! I have been taking so many precautions to keep the germs out of my life, but dear god it is not working! I woke up this morning with a scratchy throat. Naturally, I took my vitamin cocktail to attempt to cut this off at the start. I had a cold-ease lozenge to try and cut this off from the start too. I haven’t been really sick since I lived in New York City when I got strep 7x in 7 months. I wanted to die. I got my tonsils taken out because of it too. I need to stop by the drug store on the way home to get a flu shot. However, I don’t know if that is wise since I’m already feeling ickyish. I also think I might have drank too much coffee this morning. My tummy isn’t the happiest of tummies. It makes me mad because I had a really great workout last night and I am looking forward to doing it again today. Maybe it is just allergies. My ear has been popping a bit lately..and it seems rather stopped up. Gotta keep taking that cocktail! Build up the immune system. I’m so not thrilled.

 

On a better note I had my phone turned off most of yesterday until around 6pm. It is honestly an amazing feeling. Then when people contact you all upset because you couldn’t be reached, is awesome. At least I think so.

 

My soapbox for the day is about the lack of general computer skills present in individuals who are functioning (kinda) at a college level. It blows my mind that this institution gives out a placement test (it covers Math and Reading) to figure out if the students needs remedial classes for either subject , but there is not test for basic computer skills. Then the students get put into classes in which the teacher requires PowerPoints to be built or possibly an elaborate youtube video–there are a variety of presentations that are required, yet some of the students here don’t even know how to SAVE a document in a place where it can be found. Or they don’t even know how to email themselves something. CRAZY! The older students I can understand having these issues, but students who are 18, 19, and 20 who haven’t been out of high school very long can’t figure it out?! How is that possible? Did No Child Left Behind throw these kids under the bus and run them over? I don’t get how you made it through public school and you don’t know how to send yourself an email? Oh and the whole idea that you can use Facebook but even logging into your email account is a challenge? How is that possible? What happened to the state of our education system that created these ill informed individuals? I’m not going to say that the public school system is a horrible thing. I assume some people are learning SOMETHING, but I have no idea what is happening to the greater masses that they are loosing the information they learned. Or at least I assume they learned it? There is no excuse. A lot of the students here come from a really wealthy school system. This county isn’t lacking in public school funding, and I know they have computers and are required to take some kind of computer classes to graduate. Now, if they happened to drop out at 16 or something, that is still no excuse. I started typing in the 6th grade on an Apple IIe. In 7th and 8th grade I was in computer classes at least 2x a week. In high school I took all kinds of things where I learned to use word processor software, database and spreadsheet software. It happened. I learned it. Yes, some people aren’t technical and I haven’t always been technical, but I dick around on the computer enough to figure it out. And whatever happened to trying to teach yourself something? I was always far too proud to ask for help unless I absolutely couldn’t figure something out. That took a lot for me. And often I would just go on doing it wrong until someone corrected me. I still didn’t ask for help, it was just pushed on me. Do any of you have an idea as to what in the world is happening to the education system in this country? I sure don’t. Please share with me if you can offer any kind of explanation!

 

Enough on the soapbox today. I still am feeling gross. I need to take a nap! Lucky for me lunch is in 1.5 hours. Enjoy your day, Bloggers. Until we meet again!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

