Grown up Problems…

As I revieled in my first blog I am 30 and living back home with my parents. They have been married for 30+ years and being here now I couldn’t tell you how many of those were happy. Yes, I should probably not air their laundry like this but it really got to me last night. I have been pretty angry this week due to a violent bout of PMS, so I was trying to stay to myself. My mother is in the medical field and they rolled out some new software this week and she hasn’t been trained yet, which is causing her HUGE amounts of problems and stress. In addition to all of that their house is on the market. It is for sale by owner and they feel compelled to have an open house EVERY FUCKING SUNDAY! Not only does this get on my every last nerve, but I work 7 days a week (except this week I have tomorrow and next Saturday off!!! eek!!!). This means in my spare time on the weekend, there isn’t t much of it, I spend that time cleaning something. So last night instead of doing anything fun I spend the night cleaning and being pissed off. Why was I pissed, because they were bitching at each other. This is how it goes.

I got home about 6pm, and mom wasn’t home which was out of the ordinary. She got home a few minutes later, but dad had already told me that the Chinese place was closed because of a family emergency and that was what they had planned for dinner. I thought to myself, there are more than one place in this town that deliver Chinese food, why not branch out and call someone else? But I didn’t say anything, mom comes home, and I was already up stairs. I her her response to my dad about the Chinese food, he proceeds to get angry back. She is in a vile mood. He is reacting to her tone. He calls the pizza place. They will take an hour for delivery (it is a Friday night mind you). He hangs up after telling them he could be there and have ordered and eaten and come home in that amount of time. So I go down the stairs. I say, “I can go pick up whatever you want me to” because as Americans its just impossible for us to actually go out and pick something up that COULD be delivered. Which is so fucking stupid. He calls the place back, orders the pizza. I sit down on the stairs and wait because it doesn’t take me 20 minutes to get to the pizza place. Maybe about 8 minutes. So my mom comes walking by and asks me what I’m doing. I said waiting. She then proceeds to tell me that it isn’t necessary. By the time I get there it will be ready. I continue to sit. I rubbed the side of my head with my hand and she asks me if I have a headache. I say no. I’m already super ill with both of them at this point. So I just leave. I get to the place and yes, I have to wait because it isn’t done. That is perfectly fine because I don’t want to be at home. My desire to not live here is very high right now. I texted my sister and told her what was going on. She lived here when she was my age also, but then moved in with her girlfriend.

I feel bad for my father because he broke his ankle a number of weeks ago and still can’t walk on it so he is in a wheel chair. He has very few responsibilities now to which fall on me and mom. He used to be responsible for cooking and cleaning because he’s a retired man now for health reasons. My mom leaves him a list of things to do daily. Most of the time he doesn’t do any of them. As simple as make your bed, which is hard for him to do but he can do it.  He doesn’t and that just adds fuel to the fire. He can push the swiffer around the floor in the wheel chair, but he doesn’t. If he would just make a small effort and do those two things she would stop being so pissed off all the time. I make my bed when I get up. I think its a stupid practice, but I still do. And I make sure to keep my room tidy (which if you know me that is an incredible task!). I don’t know if he does it out of spite or what so she has to take care of him 100% because now after 13 weeks of being in this chair he considers himself helpless? I know he is tired of being cooped up in the house. I know it is frustrating to have your mobility taken away. I feel bad for him about that. We don’t know how long he is going to be in this chair because the bone has stopped growing. The doctors don’t know why or how to get it going again, but I sure do hope they figure it out soon. I can’t handle him being this way much longer.

I have never been married. I never actually plan on it either because I don’t believe that a piece of paper makes anything official. And if in 10 years I hate my spouse, then i can just leave and not have to pay crazy lawyer fees to get away. I also don’t understand why my parents haven’t figured out how each other are yet. My father has always been a lazy slob. My mother is a control freak with a vile attitude. I am a mixture of the two and so is my sister, however we have gotten less slob like as we’ve gotten older. I don’t know why my dad doesn’t realize (or maybe he just does it out of spite like I said before) if he just did little things he wouldn’t piss her off and she wouldn’t be a bitch to everyone. I didn’t talk to anyone last night after I brought that pizza home. They got their helpings and before I ate I cleaned the dishes that were in the sink, started the full dishwasher, got all my cleaning supplies together to clean the upstairs and then proceeded to collect my dinner. I made a salad and then I got my pizza. I ate in my room. Brought my dishes back down, washed them, got the dishes my parents had used, washed them and the proceeded to clean the shit out of my bathroom and bedroom all while doing 3 loads of laundry, texting my sister, and my best friend Q. Eventually, I just curled up on my bed and turned on some Game of Thrones and before I knew it I was asleep. I woke up around 7:30 this morning because of Kaya (my cat) coming to curl up next to me. Now here I am. I am not as pissed as i once was. I also don’t know if I should interject and share my concerns with them. They don’t kiss or hug or have sex anymore. God knows they could both use some kind of tension release.

Mom just left to go run some errands. Dad is still asleep. I am about to go make some applesauce and do some cleaning for my mom while she’s gone. That way she can’t look over my shoulder the whole time telling me I didn’t do something correctly. I think I will dust and polish the furniture, get the cat hair off the sofa, and swiffer. And if my dad wakes up before she gets back I will clean with the loud things like vacuum and sanitize the floors with their weird mop/steamer thing. It will take her stress level down and then I have to shower and get to work. I have an hour to accomplish these things! Must go!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

