Fall Mornings

Well Bloggers, it officially feels like fall as of this weekend in NC. The weather has been teasing us up until this point but I think it is officially here now. I’m trying to psych myself up for the next 6 days (including today) because I get my first day off in 5 weeks on Sunday 10/20. I don’t know if I am going to make it, but I will try. Today and tomorrow are shorter days for me (I get to leave at 4 instead of 5) because students are on Fall Break. I was going to go to the bank today, but I just remembered it is Columbus Day. Does anyone else think its stupid that we dedicate a day to a dirt bag that didn’t actually discover America? Just so happens we were taught that he did all through grade school, and there is that stupid rhyme. But really, that’s all Columbus did for us. Provided a national holiday and possibly an easy way to brain wash the youth.

Did you ever have one of those “ah, ha!” moments when you were old enough to realize that something you always thought was true, was really a lie or you just weren’t paying attention? I wasn’t paying attention in grade school apparently (which isn’t any big shock), but I grew up always thinking that Eli Whitney, the creator of the cotton gin, was black. Talk about a smack in the face when I got to COLLEGE and realized he was actually white. I liked the story better when he was black, though. Yes, I really am that dense sometimes! I felt like a complete moron when I found out. But at least I knew the name of the guy who created the cotton gin, right? lol Embarrassing fact #1!!

Today at work is Professional Development day. I am taking 4 classes. The first one is at 8:15 on Gardening, the next one is on letting go of my inner baggage, third is on Maximizing Metabolism, and the last one is Living Lean. I am excited about the last two. I hope they can give me some pointers that I don’t already know about getting the fat off. I’m not too thrilled that I have to go to work while everyone else gets a break. I could have used two days off! This girl is exhausted. Not to mention I had left my mom a message that I set my alarm for 5:30 instead of 5:00 this morning because I had a later morning. She didn’t get it. Neither did the cat. She woke me up at 4:30. That on top of my PMS, I am not a pleasant person to be around this morning.  At least I get to wear jeans and my adidas to work today! Oh, and a hoodie! It is pretty chilly out! I love hoodies 🙂

Well, not yet followers, I am going to get on my merry way. I have to go pack my lunch and my coffee is getting low. I hope you all enjoy your excuse for a holiday! The only people it is actually a holiday for are those who work for the government. I, however, do not so I just hate the fact that I can’t get to the bank since I get off early today. Silly government! That is  a huge soap box for another day…

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

