New Beginnings

Good Morning followers that are not yet following. I have been a blogger for a number of years, on one specific site (which will remain nameless) but my time has come and gone from there. That part of my blogging life is over and I want to use this one to be more inventive with myself. I wanted a new outlet, a blank page, if you will. I am a simple southern girl. I was born and raised in the beautiful state of North Carolina, yet I have lived all over the country and seen different parts of the world. I am, what most people call, worldly. My views aren’t that of a normal southern woman. I am not what the media portrays. I have all my teeth, lost my accent coming out of the womb, and I am most certainly not a religious republican. I am, however, a simple girl who was raised with good values and who was encouraged to have my own voice. This is going to be the outlet for that voice. It can be rather loud sometimes, but that is just the southern way, right?

So I suppose I should get started by telling you a little bit more about myself. Who doesn’t like to talk about them self, anyway? I know I do, but in situations like this, introductions are necessary! *Pause while I go stir my home made applesauce* Currently I am working on a recipie for Pumpkin Muffins for work tomorrow. I am in a process of making my life healthy (it has been going on since March this year) and the muffins are whole wheat and include applesauce instead of oil. I didn’t have any applesauce so I made some. It is delicious! Nice and spicy! But I digress. Now, about that introduction. 

I turned 30 this year. I am not married, nor do I ever really plan on it. I have an older sister who is amazing. My parents have been together for over 30 years. My maternal grandparents have been together for 62 years. Want to know their secret to staying together this long? They don’t sleep in the same bed! I swear it is how marriage stays, but I still don’t really believe in it. I don’t need a piece of paper to tell me who I love. But that is a story for a different day. I have a cat named Kaya, who is slothfully sitting on the arm of the sofa next to me while I write this. I adopted her while living in Manhattan. She is quite good at keeping the mice and roaches away (or she was in NYC, now we don’t have those problems!). She is my child though, and most of the time is more than I can handle. I have quite a huge extended family. My parents are both one of 7 children. I have quite a few cousins on both sides, and one of them is going to have a baby in May of next year. She just found out and is super happy about it. I am thrilled for her.

Outside of my blood line I have an amazing group of friends. I don’t get to see them much here lately because I got a new full time job and I have a part time job so I work 7 days a week. Life as of right now is not that exciting, unless you count sleeping and working as excitement. My friends are the light that keep me going a lot of the time. They are all special in their own ways and I admire each one for the struggles they have over come in their lives, or are currently working to overcome. Knowing what I do about what each one goes through makes me feel stronger about the cross I have been given to trudge around with. My life is easy compared to some and hard compared to others.

This past August I graduated from a MLIS program (Master’s in Library and Information Science). Yes, you have to have a Master’s degree to be a librarian. Crazy, huh? Who knew! And honestly I never thought I would end up on this path. Most people didn’t think I would go to college, based on my life in high school (which was quite dark and scary). I did, however, manage to blow them all away. The MLIS was my 2nd Master’s. The first one I got from New York University in Medieval Studies, with a concentration in art and architecture. I did a program there that allowed you to build your own degree and study whatever you wanted as long as you could justify it. I designed some of my own classes while attending classes that were actually taught by teachers. I have even worked with some of the most famous Art Historians in the world. One of the teachers I had, her son was best friends with Jon Stewart’s kid. CRAZY! It was one of the best times of my life. I learned a lot about myself in the time I lived in NYC, which was roughly 2 years. It was too expensive and finding a job there is ridiculous. Either way, I had the time of my life for a little while and I wouldn’t take it back for the world.

I just had a thought. Most of my life…my adult life anyway…revolves around my education. I wouldn’t have had a fair number of the experiences I had unless I had pushed myself to explore education. When I graduated high school none of the colleges I applied to accepted me. I had a strong B average. I didn’t have any extra curricular activities besides voice lessons and competitions. I didn’t go to church either, and that usually leads to some kind of extra thing. I was actually pretty depressed as a teen. I ended up at community college with one of my best friends, Heather. She had already been there for a year and had made some pretty awesome friends. I shared hers. They were great and adopted me into their group. I finally had a home with people that understood me and didn’t make fun of me. I was accepted! I had friends in high school too, but these people were new and they loved me.

Once I was done there I ended up at the beach to finish my 4 year degree in Art History. I know you’re all sitting there going, “Who gets a degree in Art History?” Well, I did for starters because I love history, but I am a visual person and I think that art is the best way to understand how people who lived in the past survived. Historians can make speculations about a lot of things, but we wouldn’t know as much as we do about people if it wasn’t for the art that they created. This is a primary source that cannot be looked past. While at UNCW I met another amazing group of people. Even a couple people that I had met at community college came with me and we grew a new extended family. We have so many drunken stories to tell from those years. Tears and love and good and bad stories. Those were the years that helped us mold ourselves into who we are now. I know where most of them are still to this day and I know that almost all of us have or are working on a Master’s degree. I am very proud to call them my family as well.

I have a handful of friends from NYC. Most of which I still talk to, but they were no affiliated with NYU at all. I met them all outside of school. The extended family that I have now are mostly based on a job that I had when I first started my MLIS at UNCG. I never really hung out with the people that I went to school with there because I had this great family from work. They are the family I never see anymore because of my crazy work schedule, but we still manage to pull ourselves out and get together. They keep me sane for the most part. All of my friends keep me sane, whether they are close or far. I truly love them all more than they will ever know. Even the ones I don’t talk to much anymore, or at all. They were put into my life for a reason and they have all made it better. They have all been enriching and that is all a girl could ever ask for.

It is amazing how I was supposed to be talking about myself and managed to talk about the people in my life instead. As for me, I am currently revamping my life. I have PCOS and I don’t treat it with medication anymore because the side effects of the medication where far too horrible for me to stand. Now I treat it naturally through diet and exercise. Since March of this year I have taken my health into my own hands, because I am 30 and no one else is gonna do it. As of today I am down 38lbs. I weigh less than I have in my entire adult life. I am doing it all the right way, no gimmicks, and even though I slip up I still go back to my changes. I don’t (or try my best not to) eat processed white flour anything. I try my best not to consume sugar. I am a fresh veggie, fresh fruit, whole grain, and lean meat eater. It is the only way, plus all the working out, that I have managed to loose this 38lbs. I still have a lot to accomplish, but I have come so far as of now, that I can be nothing but proud of myself.

I am currently working full time as a Reference Librarian at a local community college. I am a temporary librarian which means I will only have a guaranteed job until December 20. So I have another part time job at a local retail joint that will at least give me some kind of income once the other job is gone, if I can’t find something else by then. I am currently living with my parents because of lacking funds. Believe me I am not that thrilled about it, being this old especially, but whatever! It is helping me save money until something permanent comes along. And my mom has an elliptical trainer, so I have a free gym membership too.

This blog is really getting long. I guess I am going to wrap it up shortly. You will come to learn that I ramble, frequently. I love blogging because I don’t technically have to stay on track. It helps if I do for my readers, but  this is also an outlet for me, more so than my readers. I hope you enjoy the journey we’re about to take. Come back often, because I will have a lot to say about anything and everything! Now, it’s time to go back these muffins!

About simplysouthern83

I am a 31 year old, opinionated girl from North Carolina. Well educated and currently a professor. Welcome to my weight loss journey blog. I'm changing things up and using this to keep myself accountable!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

